European Joint Doctorates (EJD)

European Joint Doctorates (EJD) are the third type of Innovative Training Network (ITN)

The objective of the European Joint Doctorates (EJD) is the awarding of joint, double or multiple doctoral degrees and the promotion of intersectoral and multidisciplinary cooperation of the participating institutions through the creation of joint doctoral programmes.

An EJD must be composed of at least three full partners (beneficiaries) from the Members States or Associated Countries entitled to award doctoral degrees. At least two of the institutions awarding joint, double or multiple doctoral degrees must be established in a Member State or Associated Country. The joint, double or multiple doctoral degrees must be recognised in the countries in which the degree-awarding institutions are located.

Joint supervision of the fellows is mandatory. The establishment of a joint governance structure with common admission, selection, supervision and assessment procedures is expected.

Funding is calculated on the number of eligible person months in the form of unit costs. A maximum of 540 person months per consortium may be requested. No more than 40% of the total EU contribution may be allocated to institutions from the same country.

EJD proposals are evaluated in a specific panel (EJD Panel).