Overview of the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Measures

A female and a male scientist are looking through microscopesThe objective of the Marie Sklodowska-Curie actions is to create a pool of European researchers as well as scientific and innovation staff and to increase Europe’s attractiveness for researchers.

The Marie Sklodowska-Curie actions are implemented on the basis of a bottom-up approach - there are no fixed scientific areas. Researchers and institutions are free to choose their research topic, with the exception of nuclear research.

The Marie Sklodowska-Curie actions are divided into five areas. Each area addresses different aspects of the overall objective.

  • Area 1: Research training and/or doctoral programmes
    Furthering career opportunities of early-stage researchers through structured research training provided by a network of universities, research organizations and non-academic institutions: Innovative Training Networks (ITN).
  • Area 2: Individual Fellowships for experienced researchers
    Promoting career opportunities of experienced researchers carrying out individual research projects to enhance their competences: Individual Fellowships (IF).
  • Area 3: Staff Exchange
    Supporting international and inter-sectoral cooperation and knowledge transfer through staff exchange within the cooperation of institutions: Research and Innovation Staff Exchange (RISE).
  • Area 4: Co-funding of mobility programmes
    Supporting regional, national and international mobility programmes for early-stage and experienced researchers, in line with the principles of Charter & Code: Co-funding of Regional, National and International Programmes (COFUND).
  • Area 5: Accompanying Actions
    Furthering the improvement of career opportunities and other aspects of career development in research through accompanying actions (e.g. European Researchers' Night (NIGHT), studies and analyses).

In addition to this division into different objectives, the Marie Sklodowska-Curie actions are categorised in institutional and individual actions, depending on whether one or more institutions or individual researchers apply.

Within the institutional actions, organisations or groups of organisations apply to the European Commission/REA for research projects covering a considerable number of person months. Resulting job vacancies must be advertised externally. The vacancies have to be published on EURAXESS; additional job advertisements are expected.

Within the individual actions, individual researchers apply in cooperation with a host institution. The host institution is to submit the application. The career opportunities of experienced researchers are promoted through individual research stays, predominately in Europe.

Die Marie-Skłodowska-Curie-Maßnahmen im Überblick

Eine Wissenschaftlerin und ein Wissenschaftler arbeiten in einem LaborZiel der Marie-Skłodowska-Curie-Maßnahmen ist die Schaffung eines starken Pools von europäischen Forschenden und Forschungs- und Innovations-Personals sowie die Steigerung der Attraktivität Europas für Forschende.

Bei den Marie-Skłodowska-Curie-Maßnahmen gibt es keine vorgegebenen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen oder Gebiete ("bottom-up approach"). Die Forschenden sind bei der Antragstellung frei in der Wahl ihres vorgeschlagenen Forschungsthemas, mit Ausnahme der Nuklearforschung.

Die Marie-Skłodowska-Curie-Maßnahmen gliedern sich in insgesamt fünf Bereiche. Jeder der Bereiche adressiert mit einzelnen Maßnahmen unterschiedliche Aspekte innerhalb der Gesamtzielsetzung:

  • Bereich 1: Ausbildung von Nachwuchsforschenden
    Unterstützung der Karriereperspektiven von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern durch strukturierte Forschungsausbildung in Netzwerken von Einrichtungen: Innovative Training Networks (ITN).
  • Bereich 2: Individualförderung von erfahrenen Forschenden
    Unterstützung der Karriereentwicklung erfahrener Forscherinnen und Forscher durch individuelle Forschungsprojekte zur Erweiterung ihrer Fähigkeiten: Individual Fellowships (IF).
  • Bereich 3: Personalaustausch
    Unterstützung der internationalen und/oder sektorübergreifenden Kooperation und des Wissenstransfers durch Personalaustausch im Rahmen von Kooperationen zwischen Einrichtungen: Research and Innovation Staff Exchange (RISE).
  • Bereich 4: Kofinanzierung für Mobilitätsprogramme
    Unterstützung von regionalen, nationalen oder internationalen Mobilitätsprogrammen für Doktoranden und erfahrene Forschende, die mit den Prinzipien von Charter & Code im Einklang stehen: Co-funding of Regional, National and International Programmes (COFUND).
  • Bereich 5: Weitere Maßnahmen
    Unterstützung der Verbesserung von Laufbahnaussichten und anderer Aspekte von Karrieren in der Forschung in Europa durch allgemeine Begleitmaßnahmen (zum Beispiel European Researchers' Night (NIGHT), Studien und Analysen).

Neben dieser Gliederung nach verschiedenen Zielsetzungen gibt es eine weitere Unterteilung der Marie-Skłodowska-Curie-Maßnahmen: Man unterscheidet institutionelle und individuelle Maßnahmen, je nachdem, ob die Antragstellung durch eine bzw. mehrere Einrichtungen oder durch individuelle Forschende in Kooperation mit der Gasteinrichtung erfolgt.

Bei den institutionellen Maßnahmen reichen Einrichtungen bzw. Gruppen von Einrichtungen Vorschläge bei der EU für umfangreichere Projekte und eine Reihe von Forschermonaten innerhalb dieser Projekte ein. Die daraus resultierenden Stellen werden, abhängig von der Maßnahme, extern ausgeschrieben oder es werden Beschäftigte der durchführenden Einrichtungen eingebunden. Die Stellenausschreibungen müssen in jedem Fall auf EURAXESS veröffentlicht werden; daneben werden andere Ausschreibungsoptionen erwartet.

Bei den Individualmaßnahmen erfolgt die Antragstellung durch einen individuellen Forschenden in Kooperation mit einer Gasteinrichtung, durch die letztendlich das Einreichen des finalen Antrags erfolgen muss. Unterstützt werden Kompetenz- und Karriereentwicklung erfahrener Forscherinnen und Forscher im Rahmen eines individuellen Forschungsaufenthaltes innerhalb oder außerhalb Europas.