Co-funding of Regional, National and International Programmes (COFUND)

Co-funding of new or existing regional, national, and international programmes for early-stage researchers or experienced researchers

A person draws a puzzleObjective

COFUND supports existing or new regional, national or international mobility programmes for experienced researchers (Fellowship Programme Panel) and for early-stage researchers (Doctoral Programme Panel). The scheme aims to foster and improve excellence in the training, mobility and career development of researchers in Europe. Support is provided not to individual researchers but to European organisations offering mobility programmes for researchers.

Participation requirements for institutions

Organisations from Member States and Associated States that offer programmes to enhance transnational mobility and career development for experienced and early-stage researchers may apply.

Eligible programmes

Organizations can apply for funding with both existing and new mobility programmes which enable or promote transnational mobility and the career development of researchers.

The Doctoral Programme Panel is dedicated to programmes for researchers with less than four years' research experience (full time) after graduation who have not yet been awarded a PhD degree. It aims to promote the development and broadening of research competences. Collaborations with different partner organisations, including from the non-academic sector, are favourably taken into account during the evaluation. Attention is being paid to the quality of supervision and mentoring arrangements as well as career guidance.

The Fellowship Programme Panel is dedicated to experienced researchers with over four years' research experience (full time) after graduation and to researchers who have already been awarded a PhD degree. The objective is to increase the researchers' skill sets to improve their employability and career prospects. The selection of researchers should base on open competition and fair, transparent peer-review procedures. Funded programmes should impose as few limitations as possible on the research areas and the host organisations or host countries.

Duration of the project

COFUND supports programmes of between 36 and 60 months' duration.

Financial aspects

EU funding is provided in the form of fixed contributions to the researchers' subsistence and the administrative costs of the mobility programme. It may be combined with funding from the European Stuctural & Investment Funds (ESIF) or other external funding, but not with any other grant from the Horizon 2020 programme. An organisation can apply for a maximum of 10 million euros in a COFUND call. Where co-funding for an existing mobility programme is sought, the applicant must demonstrate how the co-financing would be used to enhance the quality and extent of the existing measure. The co-financing shall not replace existing funds, but contribute to expanding the measure.

Applications

Project proposals are submitted by the organisation. Researchers apply directly to the selected organisations.

Calls

Calls for proposals are listed here.

Co-funding of Regional, National and International Programmes (COFUND)

Europäische Kofinanzierung für bestehende oder neue regionale, nationale oder internationale Mobilitätsprogramme für erfahrene Forschende sowie Mobilitätsprogramme für Doktoranden

Eine Hand malt mit einem Stift ein Puzzle auf einer transparenten ScheibeZiel der Maßnahme

COFUND unterstützt bereits vorhandene oder geplante regionale, nationale oder internationale Mobilitätsprogramme für erfahrene Forschende (Fellowship Programme Panel) und Mobilitätsprogramme für Doktoranden (Doctoral Programme Panel). Dabei zielt die Maßnahme auf eine Steigerung und Verbesserung der in Europa vorhandenen Möglichkeiten für die Unterstützung der Ausbildung und Karriereentwicklung von Forscherinnen und Forschern. Unterstützt werden dabei keine individuellen Forscherinnen und Forscher, sondern Organisationen in Europa, die Mobilitätsprogramme für diese anbieten.

Teilnehmende Einrichtungen

Bewerben können sich Organisationen unterschiedlicher Art aus Mitglied- und Assoziierten Staaten, die Programme anbieten, die die grenzüberschreitende Mobilität und Forschungslaufbahnentwicklung von erfahrenden Forschenden (experienced researchers) und Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden (early stage researchers) fördern.

Förderfähige Programme

Bewerbungen von Organisationen können sowohl neue als auch bereits bestehende Programme beinhalten, die grenzüberschreitende Mobilität und Forschungslaufbahnentwicklung für Forscherinnen und Forscher ermöglichen bzw. ausweiten möchten.

Das Doctoral Programme Panel richtet sich an Programme für Forschende, die nach der Graduierung weniger als vier Jahre Vollzeitforschungserfahrung gesammelt haben und noch nicht promoviert sind. Ziel ist es, die Entwicklung und den Ausbau wissenschaftlicher Kompetenzen zu fördern, wobei Kooperationen mit unterschiedlichen Partnern (auch nicht-akademisch) bei der Evaluierung positiv berücksichtigt werden. Außerdem wird Wert auf die Doktorandenbetreuung und die Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Karriere gelegt.

Das Fellowship Programme Panel richtet sich an Programme für Forschende, die nach der Graduierung mehr als vier Jahre Vollzeitforschungserfahrung gesammelt haben oder bereits promoviert sind. Ziel ist eine positive Karriereentwicklung und Karriereperspektiven. Die Auswahl der Forschenden soll transparent und im Peer-review-Verfahren erfolgen. Das geförderte Mobilitätsprogramm sollte möglichst geringe Einschränkungen hinsichtlich des Forschungsfeldes sowie der Zielinstitutionen und -länder vornehmen.

Laufzeit der Förderung

Die Kofinanzierung ist auf einen Zeitraum von 36 bis 60 Monaten angelegt.

Finanzieller Rahmen

Die EU-Finanzierung besteht aus festen Beiträgen zu den Lebenshaltungskosten der Forschenden sowie zu den Verwaltungskosten des Mobilitätsprogramms. Sie kann kombiniert werden mit einer Finanzierung des Mobilitätsprogramms aus den EU-Strukturfonds oder anderen Drittmitteln, jedoch nicht mit weiteren Geldern aus Horizont 2020. Eine antragstellende Einrichtung kann in einem COFUND-Bewerbungsaufruf maximal 10 Millionen Euro erhalten. Bei bestehenden Programmen ist aufzuzeigen, wie die Kofinanzierung für die qualitative oder quantitative Erweiterung der vorhandenen Maßnahmen genutzt wird. Die Kofinanzierung sollte nicht bereits vorhandene Förderung ersetzen, sondern zu einer Ausweitung der Maßnahme beitragen.

Bewerbungen

Vorschläge für COFUND werden durch die Einrichtungen eingereicht. Forscherinnen und Forscher können sich nur direkt bei den ausgewählten Fördereinrichtungen für die kofinanzierten Programme bewerben.

Bewerbungsaufruf

Den aktuellen Bewerbungsaufruf finden Sie auf unserer Seite Bewerbungsaufrufe.